Experienced lawyers to give
you the results you deserve.
Energetic Trial Attorneys with Nearly 20 Years of Experience Defending Clients Throughout Nevada
When you are facing criminal charges, you will need an experienced and knowledgeable trial lawyer on your side to champion your case in court. Attorney Richard P. Davies has handled some of the most high-profile murder cases, and he and his team are prepared to strategize your defense against misdemeanor or felony charges. He has the energetic vigor of a young fighter but the years of professional experience of a seasoned trial attorney. As a result, he is fully dedicated to the success of your case and has the reputation to prove it.
In criminal defense cases, experience matters. Judges can rule however they interpret the situation, so only an experienced trial lawyer will know how to prepare for the prosecution’s likely strategies and present your case in an effective manner. Whether you face criminal charges for DUI, assault, violent crimes, or drug charges, or if you seek legal support to navigate your arrest or petition for the sealing of your records, Richard P. Davies, Esq. can help.
Driving Under the Influence
One common criminal charge is driving under the influence, or DUI. Recall that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more within 2 hours of driving (referred to as a “per se” DUI) or while under the influence of drugs or alcohol such that they are impaired to a degree that they cannot safely drive. The BAC threshold is lowered for commercial drivers to .04% or more and for drivers under the age of 21 to .02% or more. Note that a person can be charged with DUI merely for being in actual physical control of the vehicle, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
The penalties for DUI will depend on the severity of the case and how many prior convictions the defendant has:
- 1st offense – up to 180 days in jail (mandatory minimum of 2 days); at least $400 in fines; at least 185 days of license revocation; 185 days of ignition interlock device (IID) use if BAC less than .18%, 1-3 years if BAC over .18%
- 2nd offense – up to 180 days in jail (mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail or home confinement); at least $750 in fines; 1 year of license revocation; 185 days of IID use if BAC less than .18%, 1-3 years if BAC over .18%
- 3rd offense – 1-6 years in prison; at least $2,000 in fines; 3 years of license revocation; 1-3 years of IID use
Keep in mind that Nevada implements implied consent laws like many other states that presume all drivers consent to a blood or breath BAC test. Refusal or failure of tests will result in additional periods of license suspension. Visit our DUI page to learn more.
Misdemeanor and Felony Assault
Our firm also defends clients against assault charges. NRS 200.471 defines assault as an attempt to cause physical injury to another person. Assault is also any intentional act or threat of action that reasonably causes a person to feel afraid of impending violence.
Assault can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. Misdemeanor assault is generally punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines, with the possibility of substituting 200 hours of community service in place of the jail sentence. The penalties will increase if the misdemeanor assault was committed against a protected victim (e.g., police officer, school employee) or a domestic partner.
Assault committed with the use of a deadly weapon is a Category B felony punishable by 1-6 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000. The prison range rises to 1-20 years if the defendant allegedly committed the assault due to the other person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, or other special characteristics. Some misdemeanor assaults can be charged as felonies under special circumstances. Visit our page on Assault for more details.
Our trial lawyers are also highly experienced in murder defense cases. Recall that there are two main types of murder charges – first-degree and second-degree – and NRS 200.030 defines murder as the unlawful killing of another person that is done with malice. First-degree murder comprises premeditated killings and felony murder (killings done while the defendant is committing a serious felony). Second-degree murder comprises unintentional killings where the defendant acted so recklessly that they must’ve known death might occur.
First-degree murder is punishable by one of the following:
- death penalty;
- life in prison without possibility of parole;
- life in prison with possibility of parole after 20 years;
- 50 years in prison with possibility of parole after 20 years.
Second-degree murder is punishable by either life in prison with possibility of parole after 10 years or 25 years in prison with possibility of parole after 10 years. Note that aggravating or mitigating factors could increase or lessen the defendant’s sentence. For more information on charges like murder or manslaughter, visit our page on Violent Crimes.
Facing Criminal Charges?
From DUI to assault to murder, Richard P. Davies, Esq. has defended clients against a multitude of charges throughout Nevada. Attorney Davies and his team of trial lawyers are well-equipped to challenge the criminal accusations against you and protect your constitutional rights as a defendant. Let us take a look at your situation and the available evidence to strategize a unique defense for your specific charges.
We pride ourselves on providing exceptional legal guidance and stop at nothing to defend our clients' rights. Read our client testimonials to hear about their experiences.