Reno DUI Attorney | DUI Lawyer Reno | Richard P. Davies Law
Reno: 775.360.6894 Las Vegas: 702.781.3161 richard@richardpdavieslaw.com
Call Today For a Complimentary Case Review!
Reno DUI Attorney

Call Today For a Free Consultation!
775.360.6894

Reno DUI Attorney

Need a DUI defense attorney in Reno? Richard P. Davies can help!

Reno DUI attorney Richard P. Davies has extensive experience defending individuals charged with DUIs and is recognized as one of the top 50 DUI attorneys in Nevada by the National Advocacy for DUI Defense (NAFDD). He’ll guide you throughout all stages of a DUI case. More importantly, Richard will challenge the charges brought against you, cross-examine the arresting officer or witnesses, and work toward a dismissal or reduction of charges.

If you have been arrested in Reno for drunk driving or driving under the influence (DUI) it’s only natural to feel worried or scared; if convicted of a DUI, you’re likely to face serious legal penalties. Your license could be revoked or your insurance rates could increase. You could be put on probation or you could face jail time. If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, don’t face it alone. You can’t afford to have your rights trampled on and your individual freedom compromised. Let an aggressive Reno DUI attorney protect your rights and your future.

DUI: The Basics of the Offense

Driving is a privilege, something that the State of Nevada regulates and can easily revoke when an individual violates state driving laws. If chemical tests show that an individual’s level of intoxication has reached the legal limit of .08% Blood Alcohol Content or BAC (.02% if the individual is under age 21), the state can suspend or revoke their license, impose a fine, or require jail time. Nevada enforces the implied consent law, so any individual who refuses to take a chemical test or field sobriety test faces the risk of being slapped with a fine or having their license suspended. It’s also important to note that there are cases where an individual can still be arrested for and convicted of DUI with less than .08% BAC if there is substantial evidence that the person is under the influence of alcohol and unable to operate his vehicle safely.

Penalties for Drunk Driving in Nevada

DUI arrests are often a person’s first brush with the law. First-time DUI offenders usually face a lighter sentence than repeat offenders. Common penalties include:

  • Jail Time – 2 days to 6 months
  • Fines – up to $1,000 in fines, in addition to court fees
  • Court-mandated alcohol awareness courses or counseling
  • 90-day driver’s license suspension
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your car for up to 36 months
  • Community service

Repeat offenders pose a greater threat to road safety, so harsher penalties are imposed. These include:

  • Jail Time – Up to 6 years
  • Fines – up to $5,000 in fines, in addition to court fees
  • Court-mandated alcohol awareness courses/ counseling or alcohol abuse treatment
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your car up to 36 months

If you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI, make sure you have the best legal counsel. Get a tough and calculating Reno DUI attorney to represent you. Contact Richard P. Davies today to schedule a complimentary case review.

Call Today For a Free Consultation!
775.360.6894

Contact Us Today

Name (required)

Email (required)

Phone (required)

Message

css.php