Think you can drink and drive and avoid getting charged with DUI? Think again. An alarming 17% of Americans have faced or will face DUI arrest at some point in their driving careers. Of those charged each year, an astounding 31% are repeat offenders. These stats simply corroborate something most of us already know – DUI arrests are unfortunately all too common and have either happened to us or ones we love. I say unfortunately because of the misery driving under the influence brings to families and communities (an average of 85 people die each year from drunk driving in Nevada alone), and because of the serious consequences that Nevada DUI penalties bring to ill-fated drivers.
With a significant economic legacy of gambling and an ongoing reliance on tourism, alcohol consumption is somewhat woven into Nevada’s culture. Whenever alcohol is provided in exchange for patronage, one might assume that alcohol-related issues increase significantly. Compared to other states, Nevada actually falls in the middle for DUI arrests, but a lot of that has to do with vigilant policing and strong public service messaging campaigns. All of that aside, it’s important for Nevadans to remember one thing when it comes to driving under the influence: Nevada’s drunk driving laws are tough.
And tough laws in this area make sense. Far too many innocent lives are lost and compromised at the fleeting intersection of impaired decision making and a set of keys. That said, being arrested for DUI is scary and poses significant interruptions in peoples’ lives – which in itself is no accident.
A first DUI conviction is usually a misdemeanor and also includes the following Nevada DUI penalties:
- Up to 6 days in jail
- Anywhere from $400 to $1,000 in fines, as well as court fees
- Mandated alcohol awareness classes or other forms of counseling
- 3-month license suspension
- Possible installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 1-3 years
A second offense will earn the convicted individual the following Nevada DUI penalties:
- 10 days to 6 months in jail
- $1,000 in fines
- A one-year license suspension
- Mandatory classes or counseling
- Possible installation of an IID for 1-3 years.
Anyone with the unenviable distinction of a 3rd DUI faces 1-6 years in jail, a 3-year license suspension, up to $5,000 in fines, additional fees and the certain installation of a vehicle IID.
Regardless of whether it’s a first offense or third, history shows that folks who face a DUI charge without expert legal representation fare far worse than those who recruit the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. After a DUI, you’re faced with shame, hassle, and additional, unexpected expenses from insurance hikes and required classes. The one thing you cannot afford however, is to receive heavier charges than necessary – and this is precisely what happens when people defend themselves.
To protect your rights, your livelihood and your future, you need an aggressive Reno DUI attorney who cross-examines witnesses and arresting officers with the aim of reducing or dismissing charges brought against you. Richard P Davies is recognized for his years of outstanding service as a Reno defense attorney. If you’ve been arrested for DUI and want to drastically improve your chances for a better outcome, contact his office for a free case review and consultation.