Even if you didn’t drink enough for a proper hangover, if you’ve been cited with a DUI in Reno, you’ve got some serious headaches coming your way. The combination of civil and criminal penalties for a DUI in Nevada add up to lots of time, money and inconvenience. One of the greatest impediments to getting back to your normal life is the revocation of your driver’s license. Many folks choose to run the 90-day gauntlet and drive without their license in the name of getting to work, transporting children, or for less noble reasons. Noble or not, driving with a revoked license is ill-advised. Getting caught for it usually adds plenty of extra penalties. There is another way.
What You’re Looking At:
The Administrative and Criminal Penalties for a 1st offense DUI in Nevada Are:
- License revocation: 90 days
- Jail sentence of 2 days to 6 months OR 96 hours of community service
- Fine of $400 to $1,000.
- SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance: Required 3 years
- Victims Compensation, Driver’s License Fee, Testing Fee, Reinstatement Fee: $224.25
- Ignition Interlock Device (installation and monthly monitoring fees)
- Mandatory attendance of DUI school (more fees)
- Possible order to attend a substance-abuse treatment program (more fees)
What You Can Do if You Get a DUI in Reno
The fees and restitution listed above add up considerably. However, if you are forced to quit a job, miss interviews, or lose the support of a new relationship due to non-existent or impractical transportation options, the fallout gets much more severe. And you certainly do not want to drive with a suspended license. So, what to do?
Hiring a Reno DUI attorney offers numerous advantages, beyond handling the labyrinth of required paperwork and appearances. A skilled attorney can often reduce the overall consequences associated with your DUI, and most importantly, your attorney can get you back in the driver’s seat with a restricted license quickly. With a restricted license, you’ll be able to commute to and from work, make your obligatory hearings and classes, attend school and get your children to school and back home. Being able to legally attend to your daily obligations is the first step to getting your life back on track after getting arrested for a DUI in Reno, NV.
Easing the Pain
States across the country impose stiff penalties on those who drive under the influence. And there’s good reason for that. The toll drunk driving takes on our nation is incalculable. Heavy administrative and criminal consequences are meant to deter us from getting behind the wheel when we shouldn’t. However, those consequences shouldn’t destroy your life. The brutal realities imposed by a DUI conviction can be substantially lessened with the help of a good criminal defense attorney. If you’ve been cited and convicted for DUI in Reno, contact Richard P. Davies. Your consultation is free, so you have nothing to lose. At the very least, you’ll learn what your options are and what you can expect in the coming months. In many cases, Mr. Davies can reduce and sometimes get charges dropped, minimize the overall impact of the offense, and get you driving legally and quickly again. Call or visit today to schedule an informative consultation with one of Reno’s top DUI attorneys.