May 2017 - Richard P. Davies Law
Reno: 775.360.6894 Las Vegas: 702.781.3161 richard@richardpdavieslaw.com
Call Today For a Complimentary Case Review!
What July 1st 2017 Means for Recreational Marijuana Users, and What it Doesn’t

What July 1st 2017 Means for Recreational Marijuana Users, and What it Doesn’t

On January 1, 2017 recreational marijuana use became legal in Nevada. However, there are still penalties for using marijuana in public. So before you go cruising through Midtown on your fixed gear ripping a joint, please remember that the law only allows for the use of pot in the privacy of your own home. Obtaining Marijuana from Local Dispensaries Now, just because weed became legal in Nevada to use, doesn’t mean you can walk into your local marijuana dispensary and buy some “chronic” or “cush.” At this time, dispensaries still require you to have a medical card to purchase pot. However, a new important date is rapidly approaching. Marijuana dispensaries in Nevada are scheduled to start selling marijuana to the general public on July 1, 2017. What is important to recognize here is that this does not change the law at all. Pot users should still not carry weed and or weed paraphernalia in public. Nevada Penalties for Marijuana Possession One of the common side effects of smoking pot is forgetfulness. So if you happen to forget that your stash is in your pocket and you have a run in with the law, you may be subject to the following penalties for possession of marijuana in Nevada: Possession or use of marijuana in public is considered a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum $600 fine. Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum $600 fine. If you’re planning on breaking the law or are just curious, a complete list of marijuana related offenses, penalties, and fines for Nevada can be...
css.php