April 2017 - Richard P. Davies Law
Reno: 775.360.6894 Las Vegas: 702.781.3161 richard@richardpdavieslaw.com
Call Today For a Complimentary Case Review!
Getting a DUI in Reno Means Having To Get Your Driving Privileges Back

Getting a DUI in Reno Means Having To Get Your Driving Privileges Back

Even if you didn’t drink enough for a proper hangover, if you’ve been cited with a DUI in Reno, you’ve got some serious headaches coming your way. The combination of civil and criminal penalties for a DUI in Nevada add up to lots of time, money and inconvenience.  One of the greatest impediments to getting back to your normal life is the revocation of your driver’s license.  Many folks choose to run the 90-day gauntlet and drive without their license in the name of getting to work, transporting children, or for less noble reasons.  Noble or not, driving with a revoked license is ill-advised.  Getting caught for it usually adds plenty of extra penalties.  There is another way. What You’re Looking At: The Administrative and Criminal Penalties for a 1st offense DUI in Nevada Are: License revocation: 90 days Jail sentence of 2 days to 6 months OR 96 hours of community service Fine of $400 to $1,000. SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance: Required 3 years Victims Compensation, Driver’s License Fee, Testing Fee, Reinstatement Fee:  $224.25 Ignition Interlock Device (installation and monthly monitoring fees) Mandatory attendance of DUI school (more fees) Possible order to attend a substance-abuse treatment program (more fees) What You Can Do if You Get a DUI in Reno The fees and restitution listed above add up considerably.  However, if you are forced to quit a job, miss interviews, or lose the support of a new relationship due to non-existent or impractical transportation options, the fallout gets much more severe.  And you certainly do not want to drive with a suspended license.  So, what to do? Hiring...
css.php